Area 1 - Denver Metro

Area Directors

George Barrows

(720) 217-4144

Patti Hayes

(303) 618-7202

Jim Henthorn

(720) 732-0106

Tom Olnowich

(303) 748-8341

Our area officiates:

The Metro Denver Region  in the following counties: Denver, Arapahoe, Douglas, Elbert, Jefferson,Boulder, Broomfield, Weld, Adams, Park, Clear Creek and Gilpin.


 ASO - Jerry Letofsky


Dale's Leagues - Dale Velichkoff


DPS - Donna Wingo


CSOR - Bruce Bird

(970) 214-1798

Accept/Decline procedures

1)     Accept all games by the “accept to date”

2)      Any matches not accepted by the "accept to date" may be reassigned.

3)      Before you decline a date, please ask yourself one of two questions:

  1. Is this a date I cannot work at all? – then YES “decline”
  2. Is this a date I can work but due to travel or other restrictions cannot make the venue assignment given to me? – then NO “do not decline”. Instead contact Bruce Bird to be moved to a different location.

Assigning Procedures Fact vs Fiction


Assigning Statistics




Assigning Flowchart


Assigning Process


How to get paid as an official

 Most schools pay through ArbiterPay (sign up on Arbiter Sports through the payments tab).

Login to to create your ArbiterPay account and link it to your Arbiter assigning account for schools that pay directly through the assigning system.

If a school does not use ArbierPay, they pay directly at the site with a check, cash or mail payment within two weeks. We recommend all officials sign a pay voucher at these sites and retain a copy for their records. Also keep a record of who they have been paid by, mileage reimbursement, etc.

Training Dates 2018


Stay tuned!!

Local Area News


The assignors would like to invite you to  a pre-season assigning meeting:

Date: April 14, 2018

Time: 9 am

Venue: Jeffco Admin Building

1829 Denver West Drive # 27 - 5th Floor Board Room - Golden, CO  80401


Topics to discuss include but not limited to:

- Referee ranking

- Team ranking

- Draw process and timelines

- Decline/turn back process

- The two hats (CVOA President - CHSAA Assignor) Bruce Bird wears and how that relates to Area 1 officials


Congratulations to the following officials on being selected to work the 2017 CHSAA State Volleyball tournament on November 10 & 11, 2017.


George Barrows

Rick Dubois

Chuck Ellis

Denise Elkin

Patti Hayes

Jim Henthorn

Erin Hopkins

Richard Hurd

Jim Marcelo

Bob Mimmack

Tom Olnowhich

Bill Quinn

Kirk Rowland

Ted Schulz